Apple pie season

It’s official.  It’s apple pie time.  AKA- my favorite time.

Strawberry-rhubarb pie time is a close second, but this one, ultimately, trumps that because its coupled with my birthday and fall colored leaves.  Truth.

Fun fact: the apples I used in this pie were hand picked by yours truly.  Oh yeah, I went apple picking.  And it was awesome.  I went with a few friends to Linvilla Orchards and picked enough apples for a solid two weeks of lunchtime snacks.

Did I mention it was awesome?

I saved three massive Mutsu apples for the sole purpose of pie making, and kind of wished I had picked another one because the filling : crust ratio was slightly off.  Still tasty.

I used my go-to source for all things awesome: Southern Living. I was having trouble finding the recipe online [I have a ripped sheet from the magazine, sorry mom…], but I did manage to find the crust recipe here.

For the filling:

4.5 lbs apples peeled, cored and sliced into 1/2 inch pieces

1/2 cup sugar [originally 1 cup]

2 Tbsp flour [originally 1/4 cup]

3/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

[adding a dash of nutmeg? do it]

Pre-heat oven to 375˚. Combine all the filling ingredients in a bowl and toss to coat the apples.  Set aside to sit ~15 minutes.  Roll out one of the pie dough disks and fit into a 9-inch round pan.  Mound apple mixture into pan.  Roll out second pie dough disk and fit over the pie, pinching the edges to seal and being sure to cut a few slits to vent.  I chose to do a lattice crust mainly because I thought the bottom crust might be too thick [it was] and wanted a more sparse top crust.  Do your thing.

Bake 50 minutes.   Top pie loosely with aluminum foil and bake another 40 minutes.  Allow pie to cool 1-2 hours [if you can manage] then dig in!  Ice cream is recommended.

Leave a Reply

