Zucchini bake

I have a sort of love affair with vegetables.  Every time I visit home or my parents visit me, instead of the normal baked goods/home cooked meal swap that takes place, my mom gives me vegetables.  It’s how we roll.

When my dad came to visit last weekend he brought up a slew of vegetables from the Amish including seven zucchini/squash.  I sautéed some up to eat with eggs for breakfast, I made zucchini bread and then I decided to use a few more in some sort of vegetable bake.

That was pretty much as far as my thinking went, “some sort of vegetable bake”.  I sliced up 2-3 zucchini and squash and 2 tomatoes my mom had brought me and alternated them in rows along the bottom of a small glass dish.  In-between each layer I sprinkled in some garlic powder, pepper, parsley, and oregano.

By the time I filled up the dish I realized I should probably try and make this a bit more substantial and sliced up some cheese and soaked cubed pieces of sourdough bread to throw on top.

After about thirty minutes in the oven at 375 [with foil on top]  it was perfect.  I put it under the broiler for a few minutes as well so I could get the cheese a little bit more crispy.  I love me some crispy cheese…

For those of you who want an exact recipe, this is my best attempt:

Zucchini Bake, yields 2 large or 3 small servings

3 zucchini/squash, sliced

2 tomatoes, sliced

4oz pepper jack cheese, sliced

1 slice sourdough bread, cubed

1 egg, beaten

Use the following spices to your preference:

Garlic Salt, Parsley, Oregano, Pepper, Crushed red pepper flakes

Preheat the oven to 375˚.  Make one layer of the zucchini along the bottom of a 4 cup glass dish followed by a layer of tomato.  Sprinkle on herbs/spices of your choice then repeat until the dish is full.  Soak the sourdough in the beaten egg, making sure each cube is entirely covered.  Pour the egg/bread mixture evenly along the top of the vegetables and top with a layer of cheese.  Loosely fit aluminum foil overtop the dish and place in oven for 30 minutes.  Enjoy!

P.S.- Here’s a trippy little music video for you:

White Arrows, “Get Gone”

Leave a Reply

