Roasted zucchini and squash

What do you do when your mom buys an insane amount of fruits and vegetables from the Amish, plus your grandparents have a surplus of veggies from the garden?

Get creative, that’s what.  And learn to love the freezer.

I froze two peppers, and a pint of blueberries [I also made muffins- recipe soon to follow!]. I ate the peaches in a minute because, holy crap, they were like candy.  Onions, thankfully, keep for a while.  The squash though- that’s tricky.

A girl can only eat so many stir-frys, and I already have a few mini loaves of zucchini bread in the freezer from mom’s last Amish trip, so… I still had 6 left to eat when I stumbled across this recipe from Gourmande in the Kitchen.  It gives a little oomph to regular roasted veggies.  Thank you Pinterest.

I cut the recipe in half and I would recommend only making a small amount of the yogurt sauce.  I was using it for dipping [mainly because I legitimately like roasted zucchini and squash], and I had a lot left afterward.

The tangy-ness of the greek yogurt went really well with the roasted vegetables that- aside from the generous dusting of s&p I gave them- are generally pretty bland.  Plus, let’s be real, cumin makes everything better.  Truth.

Leave a Reply

