Apricot and grapefruit bars

If you like fruit roll-ups, you will like these.

The fruit bars are completely customizable to any flavor profile you prefer.  Any dried fruit would work- cherries, figs, blueberries- or a combination!  You can also substitute any kind of nut or seed you have on hand or prefer.

I ended up using half almonds and half sunflower seeds in place of the recipe’s 1/2 cup almonds.  I also did a combination of both grapefruit juice and lemon juice to soak the apricots in because the grapefruit I bought wasn’t particularly juicy…I bet orange juice would work as well- though its significantly less acidic and tart than grapefruit and lemons so it could make the bars a little too sweet.

As you can tell, it ended up getting a little messy when I was trying to cut the sheet into bars.  I might not have baked them long enough though***.  I rolled the dough out to probably 1/4 of an inch instead of the recommended 1/2 inch and only baked it for 13 minutes the first round in the oven.  After I cut them up I baked them for 6 more minutes.  I think they turned out fine but just be aware- things could get messy.

***I also used wax paper instead of parchment paper since we were fresh out of the stuff.  <shrug>  I’d assume parchment paper would have been the better choice.

Do you thing.  Enjoy.  Pretend your in elementary school again with your Fruit By the Foot…in bar form…

One thought on “Apricot and grapefruit bars

Leave a Reply

