The Sacred Valley Part III: Ollantaytambo

Hello friends!

Here is my last installment of posts about my trip to Peru: meet Ollantaytambo, my favorite little town. We decided to stop here for a night/day instead of taking the train all the way from Aguas Calientes to Cusco and I’m so glad we did!  It has cobbled streets, running water through channels in the streets, AND it has Inca ruins.

The Incas actually defeated the Spanish here- you’ll have to google it for a more in-depth description, but they essentially flooded the Spanish on their horses and forced them to retreat.  Sure, the Spanish came back later to defeat them, but you have to admire their ingenuity!

The people were friendly and let us take pictures of their cats in dresses [true life- my fellow traveller and cat lover flipped out], and helped us find ATMs even though the town was too remote for our measly American cards to work.

A [very skilled] potter let us pick up his insanely cute dog that he found on the street and bottle fed until it was healthy and take ridiculous pictures*** like this:

***I totally jacked these from my friend’s fb- they are not mine!

I also had possibly one of the best cappuccinos of my life. Imagine my amazement when I walk by a cafe on the main square [the Coffee Tree] and see a top of the line espresso machine in the window. In the middle of the sacred valley! I made a bee-line for it immediately. And you know what, that store owner was extremely nice as well. 

Do you sense a pattern?

Everyone is so nice and friendly in Peru!! Truly beautiful people. Here are a few pictures I snapped during the ~1.5 days we were in Ollantaytambo. Hmm, I wonder how much a vacation home there would be…

2 thoughts on “The Sacred Valley Part III: Ollantaytambo

Leave a Reply

