Egg Salad

Don’t get me wrong- I love salads.  I love, love, love them.

Salads of the mayonnaise type, however, are not exactly my thing.  I used to cringe when my family would pile macaroni salad onto their plate at dinner and coleslaw would send shivers down my spine.  I finally had a good chicken salad experience the summer before my sophomore year in college when I was a waitress at a cafe.

Now that chicken salad, my friends, was amazing.  Her ‘secret’ ingredient was using italian dressing.  Go figure.  It also had sliced grapes and dried cranberries which was a new concept for me.  Mind blown.

Ever since then I was more open to chicken salad, and even ventured into egg salad.  That brings me to the recipe I want to share with ya’ll today: “not your average egg salad” from the amazing blog Green Kitchen Stories.  I love that substituted for most of the mayo they suggest greek yogurt- genius!  Then they add in the apples, asparagus, broccoli, and toasted nuts to take it to a whole other level.  I had to use sunflower seeds because we only had a few walnuts left but it was perfect.

Needless to say, lunch was great last week.  Try it on a sandwich.  Try it in a salad.  Hey, go crazy!  Eat it straight out of the bowl!  It’s that good.

And now for your listening pleasure on this Wednesday evening [totally just wrote Tuesday- I need to get with it]:

ZZ Ward, “Put the Gun Down”

Leave a Reply

