Weekend baking

In regards to baking- I usually fail as much as I succeed.  I guess it’s better than failing more than I succeed, but I still don’t exactly consider it a win.  Because of this unfavorable ratio I’ve made it a habit to bake two things at once.  One that I think has an interesting flavor profile but is a little ‘different’, and another that I’m about 90% sure is going to be awesome.  Anticipating my failures means I almost always end up with at least one treat to offer. 

This Saturday my two recipes on the table were cardamom muffins and a pistachio citrus pound cake.  I was really excited about the muffins because aside from a batch of granola, I’ve never baked anything gluten free!  It sounded delicious- toasted sesame seeds, honey, butter.  What could go wrong?  Well, if you don’t like cardamom, you probably wont like cardamom muffins.  Fact.

I had never really used cardamom as a main ingredient so I was only half sure I would like it.  Turns out I don’t.  The recipe is solid though.  The muffins have a great fluffy texture- very light.  And they don’t leave you feeling weighed down after eating them- I just need to find a different spice.  I’m thinking I’ll do a cinnamon, nutmeg, clove combo next time- that flavor combo is tried and true [recommendations welcome!].

The second dessert, the pound cake, was amazing.  Very rich, very sweet, but I’m not complaining.  The sweetness was cut a bit by the citrus juice, and the toasted pistachios were delicious.  The five [five!] eggs make this pretty dense though so heed my warning and don’t slice more than you can chew!

Leave a Reply

