Running Hare Vineyard

My friend bought a Groupon on a whim to do a wine tasting for two at the Running Hare Vineyard.  As with the last wine tasting I went to- this vineyard imports a lot of it’s grapes from other countries and regions where the climate is better suited to growing small concentrated grapes in close bundles.  Since it’s so humid in Maryland- the closer the grapes grow to each other- the more fungus.  So to say its difficult to grow good wine grapes here is an understatement.

Long story short, I was pleasantly surprised.  I liked this place.  I liked it a lot.  My personal favorite wines were the Pinot Gris and the Shiraz.  I also have to admit that, for someone who is not a fan of sweet wine, their Chambourcin and house “Jack Rabbit” red were not bad at all.

The tasting room is an outdoor pavillion, and since they don’t offer food they welcome picnics.  Clearly, we took them up on their offer.  The woman who was helping us with the tasting was knowledgable of the wines they made [and wine in general] and very helpful.  It made for quite a nice Friday afternoon.  Thanks Alec for making me your +1!

Got to love Groupon for introducing you to knew things, ya?  Definitely plan on going back there in the near future- and when it’s warmer!  They had to bring out the heat lamps for us because winter decided to invade on our March afternoon.

If you’re ever in the area- I highly recommend this place- even for just a glass of wine and a picnic.

One thought on “Running Hare Vineyard

  1. It really was my pleasure. I had an amazing time and it was great to discovered a new place in Southern Maryland that I plan on frequenting in the future. And the company wasn’t half bad either. It was an enjoyable and informative experience and, honestly, what else can you ask for out of any excursion?

Leave a Reply

