Rye and blackberry crumble

So this is a little embarassing.

I definitely ate ~80% of this on my own.  Sure, I only made a half batch, but that’s still a bit gluttonous considering I made it on Tuesday and finished it this morning for breakfast.

What can I say- I’m a sucker for a good crumble.  And this, my friends, is a good crumble. It was rich with all that calorie free butter and the generous amount of salt gave it a perfect salty/sweet combo.  Clearly that lemon tart last week couldn’t cure my spring berry fever.

I bought some blackberry preserves purely as a vehicle for pb&j’s [grape jelly is grOoOse] until I remembered a recipe posted on Orangette a little while ago.  It was going to happen.  We had all the ingredients and Tuesday after the gym [slightly ironic] I whipped up this sucker and never looked back.

I cut the recipe in half and neglected to bake the shortbread crust before assembling the jam and crumble on top.  No worries.  I put it in a 4″ x 9″ pan, baked it at 275˚ for 15 minutes then upped the temperature to 350˚ and baked it for another 45 minutes longer.  Perfection.

Then it just sat there tempting me everyday when I came home from work.  Clearly, I gave in.  I would suggest serving it warm with vanilla ice cream 🙂

Leave a Reply

