Protein Bars

Same as how I like to try and make my own granola over buying it- I sometimes like to dabble in protein bar making.  Nothing can compare to these protein bars in the savi seed flavor [seriously, amazing], but I now have two homemade versions under my belt.  I used this recipe for the first batch- tweaking here and there- but failed to take any pictures so I’ll be sure to photograph if I make them again.

This second batch was a tad crumbly because of all the seeds, but the flavor was there.  I had to make a lot of changes to the recipes so that probably had something to do with it as well.  I was trying to combine this recipe and this one all while making substitutions as necessary.  Much to my surprise, they were actually really good.  Who knew?  Here’s the recipe I came up with:

3 Tbsp chia seeds

6 Tbsp water

1 cup raw pumpkin seeds

1/4 cup sesame seeds

1 cup coconut flakes

1/2 cup protein powder [I used this kind– I have yet to come across the hemp hearts or hemp powder used in the original recipes.  Maybe Whole Foods?]

6 Tbsp rolled oats

1/2 tsp salt

2 Tbsp poppy seeds

15 mejdool dates, chopped

2 Tbsp organic brown rice syrup

1.5 tsp vanilla extract

2 Tbsp coconut oil, melted

2 tsp cinnamon

Almond milk [as necessary]

Plain greek yogurt [as necessary

Preheat oven to 350˚.  Combine chia seeds and water in a small dish, set aside.  Pulse pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, and coconut flakes in a food processor- you don’t want a powder, just to chop the ingredients a bit.  Place in a large bowl.  Add protein powder, oats, salt, and poppy seeds.  Stir to combine.

Pulse chopped dates until a paste begins to form.  Add chia seed/water mixture, brown rice syrup, vanilla, coconut oil, and cinnamon and pulse until combined and a smooth paste forms.  Add to bowl with pumpkin seeds and mix to combine.  Here, I had to add about 1/4 cup of almond milk and 2 Tbsp greek yogurt in order to make the mixture wet enough to completely combine the ingredients.  I think to solve this problem you could also add a smashed banana or more oil [or both] if you don’t mind the extra sugar/fat content.

Spread mixture into a prepared 9″ x 9″ pan [lined with parchment paper and coated with cooking spray] and bake for 20-25 minutes [or until lightly browned].  Let bars completely cool and cut into 16 squares.

I decided to freeze half of them, wrapped in foil and placed in a ziplock bag for later- you can only eat so many protein bars before you get tired of them!

***If my calculations are correct [psh, they totally are] each bar is 180 calories and has 7g of protein plus healthy fats, tons of iron, zinc, and magnesium.  Yum.  Eat-up!

Leave a Reply

