Oops, I did it again

More granola.

I don’t know what it is, but the options are limitless and so everytime I go to make another batch I have to use a different recipe.  This one, however, is going to stick around for a while.  It’s amazing- my favorite yet.  It’s not too sweet, the nuts are perfectly roasted in the oven giving them a deep smoky flavor, and the oats get nice and caramelized from the rice syrup and olive oil.  Ooooh man.  Delish.  Try it.  Please?  It’s super easy and way healthier than buying it from the store with mass amounts of unrefined sugar.  This one has fiber, protein, good fats, and omega 3 from the flax!

Whoops, that was borderline lecturing.  Shame, shame.

Now for the recipe: I changed it up a bit [and cut it in half] so here is my altered recipe:

3/4 cup rolled oats

3/4 cup flax cereal

1/2 cup raw pumpkin seeds

1/2 cup raw hulled pistachios, roughly chopped

1/2 cup raw almonds, roughly chopped

1/2 cup coconut flakes

1/2 tsp kosher salt [I thought it was a tad too salty so maybe a little less…]

slightly < 1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup organic rice syrup

Throw it all in a large bowl, and mix it up extremely well- you want the wet ingredients to be evenly distributed.  Spray a 9″ x 13″ pan with cooking spray or line with parchment paper [I just sprayed it]. Spread mixed granola evenly over pan and cook for 45 minutes at 300˚, stirring with a spatula every 15 minutes.

The next step is very important, so listen [read?] closely: spoon cooled granola over greek yogurt, top with dried tart cherries, and eat with a cappuccino/latte/cup ‘o joe.  Bam!  That = a great start to a sunny Saturday*** [or any day, mine just happened to be a Saturday].

***Yes, I woke up at 7:30 and I was like “hey, I want to make granola”.  I’m a morning person.  These things happen.

One thought on “Oops, I did it again

  1. Pingback: Falafel | drink. eat. play. repeat.

Leave a Reply

