Chocolate Peanut Butter Cupcakes

I usually don’t go for chocolate cupcakes.  Or cake.  Or icing.  I always prefer vanilla.  <shrug> But sometimes you just need some chocolate.  These things happen.

My sister has an amazing chocolate cake recipe so the fact that I veered from a family favorite was quite brave, but I’m always down for a challenge.  I was first drawn to this*** recipe which then led me to this chocolate cake recipe.  I went for it.

The only thing is…ahem…it made 36 cupcakes.  This is an issue when you live in a household of three.  It’s a big problem.  Or, as some tweeters might say, it’s a #firstworldproblem

There was so much batter that when I still had to add the 2 1/2 cups of flour and the 1 1/2 cups of coffee [whoops, I just admitted to not following the directions…] it became clear I was going to need a larger bowl.  As it turns out, it’s quite messy to pour cupcake batter without a spouted bowl.  I think a 3 year old would have made less of a mess.

Luckily I made these on Monday and proceeded to package up 8 cupcakes for my mom to take to work and on Wednesday I forced everyone on my trivia team to eat a cupcake…the rest were dutifully eaten by the three of us.  It was a tough job, but someone had to do it.

I made a few changes to the cake recipe out of necessity: we [still] don’t have oil so I used butter, I had to go half-sies with dark and semi-sweet chocolate, and we are a strictly espresso household so instead of coffee I brewed espresso shots.

Ugh, this cake is so moist.  I will say, though, that it doesn’t exactly have the most chocolately flavor.  It lacks that in-your-face taste.  So, as expected, Jaclyn’s recipe still comes out on top.  You definitely taste the espresso though, which I liked.  The icing?  It’s dangerous.  Peanut butter is my kryptonite so it took some serious restraint to not lick the bowl.  I just licked the beaters instead…

***As an fyi- 300g cream cheese is a little more than a standard package, 113g butter is  8-9 Tbsp, and 500g powdered sugar is 4 cups.

Leave a Reply

