Sunchokes

I follow a lot of blogs.  Many of them make me feel like an awful dresser, and like an awful photographer.  Others make me want to steal their children because they’re so freaking cute.  One of said blogs is Cannelle et Vanille.  Just look at those pictures!!  Absolutely beautiful.

It was on this blog that I first read about sunchokes.  I had never even heard of them, and sort of cast the recipe aside as yet another thing I would never be able to make from that blog.  Then, about a week ago, I walked into The Good Earth a completely unsuspecting shopper and I saw them!  I didn’t know what I was going to do with them- I couldn’t even remember the blog which I originally heard about them- but I knew I needed them.  [cue the post about tofu, I impulse buy a lot]

After letting them sit in my crisper for a week+, I decided it was high time to do something with them.  Sure, it was Superbowl Sunday, and I had a host of other things I needed to do/clean/make, but I had been pushing this aside for far to long so sunchokes it is!

I did a few quick searches on the blogs I might have seen a sunchoke recipe on, and came up with these two from Cannelle et Vanille and Green Kitchen Stories

With those recipes at hand, plus the reassurance from the people at The Good Earth, I decided soup was the way to go.  As it turns out, sunchokes really are excellent additions in pureed soups because of their creamy texture.  The one I ended up making was a combination of the two above- here’s my recipe:

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 leek, diced

1 clove garlic, finely diced

~1 lb sunchokes, peeled and diced

1 potato, peeled and diced

1/2 lemon, juiced

1 tsp dried rosemary***

vegetable broth

Tip: After you peel the sunchokes, immediately place them in a bowl of cold water with a squeeze of lemon to prevent browning.

Heat olive oil in a medium pot and add leeks and garlic.  Saute a few minutes until softened.  Add potato, sunchokes, rosemary, lemon juice, and s&p to taste.  Saute another 5 minutes and add enough vegetable broth to cover the mixture in the pot [I probably used a cup], bring to a boil, reduce heat, cover and simmer 20 minutes.

Transfer ingredients to a blender and puree until smooth.  EAT! [makes 2 servings]

**I had a problem with my blender not chopping the dried rosemary.  This could have been caused by one of two things: 1.) our blender sucks [true] or 2.) it’s possible dried rosemary is not easily blended [true?].

The result was a creamy soup [without any cream! Amazing.] rich in flavor [especially considering it’s bland color].  I have to admit- I didn’t actually taste a piece of the sunchoke before I made it into soup so I can’t exactly pinpoint a flavor.  The soup, however, had a nice contrast between the acid lemon, and the earthy rosemary and leek.  I’m assuming the sunchoke added that bit of a nutty flavor I was getting as well.  I clearly need to buy more to investigate 🙂

Here’s to hoping you can find some sunchokes before the season is up!

I have a couple catchy numbers for ya to celebrate the end of the work week.  It’s ok to dance, no one’s watching…hopefully.

Walk the Moon, “Anna Sun”

Alabama Shakes, “Hold On”

Leave a Reply

