Philly weekend

So, I like Philadelphia.  It’s totally growing on me.

My first trip was a random day in my junior year of college when I decided I wanted a Philly cheesesteak and drove up with some friends for the day.  And no, I didn’t go to Geno’s. I’ve gone back five or six more times since, and the more I see- the more I like.

There must have been something in the water here in St. Mary’s because I have three [three!] friends from high school who go/went to pharmacy school at Temple.  It’s a little weird, but I embrace it because I have a constant invitation 🙂  Sure, it’s a little rough around the edges, but it adds character!  Plus, the food is excellent.

Ahh the food.  Let’s talk about that shall we?

Last weekend I went up to celebrate my friend’s 24th birthday and we ate well.  Really well.

The first night we went to a restaurant near her apartment called Fare, and to say it was excellent is an understatement.  We started off with mussels and wine then finished with pork osso bucco and a bison burger.  I’m still thinking about it.

Breakfast the next morning?  My favorite coffe shop evaaa, Mugshots.  The espresso there is amazing.  I doesn’t hurt the food is great too [and healthy!].  I stuffed myself on a Black Beauty smoothie and an egg, cheese, and pesto sandwich.  Still thinking about that meal too.

Dinner Saturday?  Possibly the best, but it’s close.  We did a tapas style meal with 7 of us at Continental.  Think cheesesteak egg rolls, korean pork tacos, brushetta, tuna tartar.  [If I say I’m still drooling over this meal too is that too much?  I should just stop shouldn’t I?Yeah, probably…]

Oh Philly, you’ve won me over with your food and good company.

Dinner at Fare, the only semi-decent picture I could manage

Leave a Reply

