granola city

Yes, I made more granola.  I’m sorry, I’ll try to venture away from cookies and granola in the near future.  I did make a different recipe than my last batch though!  And really, who doesn’t need another granola recipe in their bag of tricks?

This monster batch is gluten free.  Not that I’m gluten free.  I actually don’t have any allergies.  I’m totally boring.

Moving on.  I’m always looking to add some extra jazz to my yogurt.  My current craze is taking plain greek yogurt and throwing in a combination of: truvia, cinnamon, and fruit.  After months of doing this, I need a new routine.  Since this granola is essentially all nuts- it adds an extra dose of protein to the already protein rich greek yogurt.  AKA: snack gold.  Super fab.

This time I used a 6 oz. tub of plain greek yogurt, a sprinkle of truvia, some raisins, and a handful of granola.  But hey, maybe next time I’ll swap in frozen berries for raisins or honey for truvia- crazy town!  The options are endless.

The best part?  You make this whole recipe and you’re set for a long time.  I mean, like weeks.  Unless you proceed to sit down and eat half of it in one sitting…then maybe one week.

I changed the recipe a teeny bit because I had to work with what was in the pantry.  The thing to remember is that when you change around ingredients, especially the wet ones, the consistency will change and so will the cooking time.  The recipe I ended up using was this:

2 cups sliced almonds

1/2 cup of both pepita and sunflower seeds, unsalted

1/4 cup black sesame seeds

1/2 cup ground flax meal

1 cup of flax cereal

1/4 cup brown rice syrup

2 Tbsp of both coconut oil and almond butter

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp almond extract

I followed the directions: melting the coconut oil, almond butter, and brown rice syrup together then pouring it over the dry mixture.  I only baked this for 25 minutes, and mine were a little too toasted so I would recommend checking yours around 20 minutes.

Devoured.  Good thing I made a huge batch.  This might be a yogurt for breakfast, lunch, and dinner kind of Saturday.

Leave a Reply

