Wines worth mentioning

Merry day after Christmas!  I hope all of you are enjoying your Christmas [and Chanukah] presents and time with your family this cold winter morning.  Is it sad one of the things I’m most excited about getting was a heart rate monitor?

…don’t answer that.

Now, I have a gift for you.  Sure you can’t open it [arguably the best part], but you can go buy stuff [the runner-up on the ‘fun’ scale]!

Whether it be a stress reliever from holiday crunch time, a way to socialize with family and friends, or just because the glass fits nicely in your hand as you’re reading a book: everyone deserves an excuse to have a glass [or two] of good wine…

Here are a few of my current favorites:

Nicklaus Cabernet Sauvignon, 2008

Rust En Vrede Merlot, 2010

Rapture, Cabernet Sauvignon, 2005 [the link is for the 2009 because I wasn’t able to find the 2005 online…]

Kudos Pinot Gris, 2010

Robert Mondavi Winery Fumé Blanc, 2005

Forefront Pinot Noir, 2010 [while I’m at it, I figure I might as well mention that I have yet to meet a Forefront wine I didn’t like]

I know my last post about wine highlighted a lot of reds so I made a serious effort to go to the “whites” side of our wine cabinet, and taste more white wines when we were out.  It’s a hard job, but someones gotta do it.

Hope you try a few.  Hope you like a few. Cheers!

p.s.- want an awesome cheese?  Rosso Di Langa.  You can find it at Whole Foods, its made of both cow and sheep’s milk, and its delicious.  Not in-your-face pungent like some goat cheeses can be, its more on the mild side.

Leave a Reply

