The weekly round-up

So what’s up with the weather this week?  It was in the high 60’s, then all of a sudden Wednesday and Thursday were freezing.  Stop messing with me Mother Nature.

A few weeks ago I bought this painting [in postcard size] by Jeanne Norton Hammett. My mom has been totally mildly obsessed with her work for some time now, and I quickly followed suit.  I love the colors she uses.  I love her Southern Maryland imagery.  I have this thing, you see, where buy artwork related to or depicting places that I have been.  I have a large map of Paris, a watercolor from Sienna, and postcards from literally every place I’ve visited.  Ever.  I’m kind of a postcard hoarder.  There should be a show.

Each of her pieces are slightly different because of the varrying movements of the paint during the silk screening process so each will differ in it’s skies or waters.  They’re each perfectly imperfect.

I have my eye on this piece in a full scale to make a nice pairing.  Isn’t it beautiful!?  The online pictures don’t do it justice.  The colors are bright, yet not overwhelming.  Now I just need to save up my monies for bit…minor detail. [Just in case you’re wondering, she’s having an open house Dec. 10 and 11 at her studio.  She promised me cookies!]

ok now on to some randoms…

Don’t these and these treats look yummy for a holiday gift?  I’m thinking about getting them for some co-workers…slash myself…

ugh I love maps so much. it’s a thing. i can’t explain it.

I’m pretty sure this would get my day started on the right foot

bah hum bug

Who has a truck I can borrow in the spring?

What’s up with the government and their secrecy?

Well that’s all folks! Have a great weekend. and listen to this:

Atlas Genius, “Trojans”

and then this

Of Monsters and Men, “Little Talks”

Leave a Reply

