Roadtrip food

So I realize I went on my roadtrip like ooooh I don’t know, over a month ago? but I need to share these granola-ish bars with you.  I just need to.  You understand.

I’m cheap.  It happens.

I knew we would be spending a lot of money on the roadtrip for gas and food and probably lodging a few times [when we aren’t staying with friends or camping], so I was trying to think of ways I could save.  The obvious choice was to make some of my own food to bring.

I was going to be flying so my options were limited and space in my suitcase was even more limited.  I made a batch of the granola mentioned in a previous post, but I also made energy bars for when we were hiking / when I didn’t want McDonalds. I researched like a mad woman trying to find recipes I could tweak to my liking- to say it was overwhelming is an understatement.  Have you ever tried to find a granola bar recipe?  There are crunchy ones, chewy ones, sweet ones, fruit and nut ones, date based, oats based.  OH MY GOSH!

I finally just stuck to two bars from Oh She Glows– changing them depending on what nuts and dried fruit we had or ones I preferred.  While I’m mentioning Angela’s blog, let me say my piece: I love it.  I’m not vegan, or even close to it, but I enjoy experimenting with food.  Her baked goods recipes are amazing.  I have since tried several others like these, these and hopefully these soon.  All with spectacular results.  Sure, it’s vegan, but it tastes delicious!  Seriously, give ’em a try!

The first batch was the banana-cranberry bars.

I only used about 2 Tbsp brown sugar and added a Tbsp of brown rice syrup, then I used dried cherries instead of cranberries since I enjoy those better.  I also subbed in some wheat bran for the whole wheat flour and completely omitted the dried coconut [no gracias].  I used vegetable oil in place of the coconut oil.

The second batch I made were these beauties: Fruit and Nut Energy Bites.  Everyone who has tried them loved them.  My grandparents, my parents, my friend who needed a pick-me-up after one too many wine tastings in California…my mom even requested I make another batch once I came home.

As for my recipe tweaking, here ya go: I completely omit the dried apricots because…ew, and I, again, used dried unsweetened cherries because I like their flavor more than dried cranberries.  I use whole wheat flour, and prefer them with 1 cup toasted almonds over the other nut options.  I only put in 1 Tbsp of the brown sugar because I find the dates make these extremely sweet already so why add more, ya?  I have also cut this recipe in half with great results.

Both of these are great for hiking or as a snack to keep in your bag for when you need a little energy.  The banana bars got a little dry after a few days, but the fruit and nut bites kept for much longer.  If you store them in the fridge I imagine they would last quite some time.

I hope you give ’em a try.  Reallly, it’s no more difficult than driving over to your grocery and buying a box.

cute wrapping optional

Leave a Reply

