Tea Time

While I really enjoy tea- black tea, green tea, herbal tea, you name it- the main purpose of this post is for me to show off my new tea pot.  Yeah, I’m a super dork.

One of our local home furnishings store, Traditions, had this Japanese tea set in the 50% off room [my favorite room] and was on sale for $20!!  I’ve been wanting a traditional style set for some time now, and really- you can’t beat 50% off.

For how much I enjoy tea now, it took me a while to get to that point.

It’s funny, I used to think that since I hated Lipton Iced-Tea, I also hated tea in general.  Such a silly little girl.  One summer I worked in a tea room that bought their stock from Harney & Sons, and I started tasting.  My first victim was called Bangkok Green, then it was the Gun Powder Green, and soon I had systematically made my through all of their green tea selection.  I was hooked.  I was very hydrated that summer.

Harney & Sons is still our go-to brand for specialty tea [the Moroccan Mint is my current obsession], but you’d be surprised at how good regular ole grocery store options are.  One of my Architecture classmates introduced me to Bigelow Chai Tea, and when I was studying abroad in England I quickly developed a love of their ‘fairtrade’ English and Irish Breakfast teas [aka- the cheapest brand].  Now, they’re my favorite.  I almost always have a box of the Chanticleer Breakfast tea from the Eastern Shore Tea Company, but I’m currently sipping on a cup of Allegro Breakfast Blend from Whole Foods.  I can’t even imagine a day without my morning cup.

Sometimes, it’s just necessary to take the time, boil the water, steep the tea leaves, and enjoy a cup of hot tea.  So I did.  With a plate of roasted and salted beets.  I can’t explain it.  These combinations just happen.

FYI- I recently discovered this specialty tea store based in NY.  You should check it out! I’m hoping to order some once I’ve made my way through this Moroccan Mint!

One thought on “Tea Time

  1. OMG I love salted beets! So so yummy!
    This is way random but I saw you commented on Cup of Jo’s blog for her necklace giveaway…and thought I’d let you know I’m doing a similar giveaway with a VERy cute personalized stamped necklace!

    You should come check it out…hey two entries is better then one right?! 🙂

    xoxo
    Aarean

    colorissue.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

