I’m on a bacon binge

Somebody stop me!

[but seriously, The Mask was a great movie]

I have bacon on the brain.  Is this gluttony?  I’m totally sinning.  Sorry.

Our second bacon infused meal started with something much more innocent than the previous night’s scones.  Remember that Food and Wine Festival I took my parents to back in the summer?  Well, we bought some spices and semi totally forgot about them.

Last week I was on a mission to keep them from feeling neglected.  My original plan was to rub it on some chicken, bake it, and call it a meal, but that was too boring.  As I was trimming the chicken, I started thinking about the ingredients in the blend, and it went something like this: “Hmm Tuscany…Italy!…Mediterranean! We have goat cheese!”

My thoughts are so profound.

So, I plopped the rest of our goat cheese into a bowl, shredded some spinach [because why not], and threw in a bit of the seasoning.

After stuffing the chicken breasts, I realized what this meal was missing: bacon. There was no way around it.  You can’t stuff chicken and not wrap it in bacon. Especially not if you happen to have bacon on hand.  Which we did.  So I did.

I used a pound of chicken breast, 1/2 packet of seasoning, 4 slices of bacon, 3oz of goat cheese [feta would also be great], and I have no idea how much spinach.

Bake these beauties at 375 for about 25 minutes, serve with veggies and rice of your choice.  Long live bacon.

The spice blend is totally amazing by the way.  I highly suggest hopping over to their website to check out some of their products.  Any kind of spice blend would work well in this recipe though- everything goes with bacon.  We also bought the Moroccan blend, which I currently have no idea what to do with.  Soup?

Leave a Reply

