Food for the soul: bacon and gruyere scones

You see, it all started with baconI kind of love it.  It’s basically meat candy.  I’m not so in love with it that I’m down for eating it on it’s own though.  Like at breakfast.  I don’t really want a slab of bacon as my side, stop asking [I’m looking at you IHOP].

I do however, like it in essentially everything edible.  I was practically salivating on my computer when I stumbled across this scone recipe from my new favorite food blog: Spoon Fork Bacon.  We have a mutual understanding for bacon.

…and butter.  But, really, who doesn’t love butter?

Then I hooked a right turn back to reality and realized, no matter how much I wanted to, I couldn’t serve just scones for dinner.

So I was like, “ok, ok.  what would Heidi Swanson do?”  The answer of course is something with whole grains [or seeds.  quinoa is technically a seed- that trickster] and vegetables.  Enter: quinoa patties.

I’ve made these before except I cooked them on the stovetop, and I think I prefer that method over baking.  It is more convenient to bake them though if you’re busy doing other things- just be sure to check on them so they don’t dry out…like these did…

Round it out with a small salad, and you’re golden!  But, of course, don’t forget the scones. Good luck eating just one.

One thought on “Food for the soul: bacon and gruyere scones

  1. Pingback: Spinach and Pork Dumplings | drink. eat. play. repeat.

Leave a Reply

