America the beautiful

I’m baaaaaack!

It’s nice to be home, but also sad.  I love America, but I also love having a bathroom close by at all times.  I drink a lot of water.

Straight up, the U.S. of A is awesome.

It’s also very large.  Like several 10-14 hour drives large.  My legs started to hurt from sitting down for too long, and I’m pretty sure I have developed diabetes from a Dairy Queen in Oregon, and a few too many homemade ice cream shops.  On top of that my cholesterol is probably shot from the Cracker Barrel stop I suggested in West Virginia, and the breakfast of sausage, biscuits, and gravy the following morning in Shepardstown.  I’m a bad influence.

Can I still claim that I deserve it after hiking Half Dome in Yosemite?….1.5 weeks prior…

I need to exercise.  And eat a salad.

This was a trip of a lifetime for me.  An eye-opener.  For the longest time I had this affinity with Europe.  It was the only place I wanted to go.  Paris, London, Milan, Barcelona, Rome. I even wanted to go to the Balkans.  Traveling around America never even crossed my mind.  I live here- it had lost it’s appeal.  I also had an “I hate America” stint during a certain 8 year rein of a certain Republican, but we don’t need to get into that.

I had become biased against my own country!  Madness.  No worries, I’ve learned my lesson.  We have it all.  Right here in this 3,000 mile-long wide stretch of land.  Sure, it’s a long way.  But it’s a road worth traveling.

The obvious side effect of this trip, of course, is the bug.  The travel bug.  I’m already planning future roadtrips- it really is the best way to see America.  There is so much [too much] to see!

I discovered a lot of places I would love to live.  I also found a lot of places I would never want to live.  Pacific Northwest, here I come.

I learned that in Iowa the sky is so clear you can see the Milky Way, and that sleeping in a haunted house isn’t as creepy as it sounds.

Coffee in Portland is better than coffee in Seattle.  Sorry Starbucks.

I found out I need a husband that owns a winery.  Reasonable.

I learned that dogs with three legs are super adorable.  Especially when they’re so happy to see you they lose their balance and fall into your legs from waging their tail too hard.

In-N-Out burgers aren’t that great.  Actually they’re pretty awful.

Speeding tickets in California are expensive.

Missoula, Montana is awesome.  Surprised?  Me too, but any bar with 40 beers on tap is bound to be a good time.  Waking up at 6 am the next day?  Not so fun.

The fro-yo shop in Redding, California has a heinous amount of typos on it’s menu.

The last lesson I learned?  I need to go on another roadtrip.

**pictures soon to follow

Leave a Reply

