Homemade granola

I usually don’t eat granola.

Don’t get me wrong, I love granola.  I love it in milk, in yogurt, and my personal favorite- straight out of the bag.  What I don’t like is how most brands conceal an extremely unhealthy food under the pseudonym of ‘granola’.  That term is supposed to mean wholesome, healthy, natural.  I mean, it’s grains- how can it not be healthy?

Sugar.  That’s how.  Lots and lots of sugar.  You look at a bag of granola and wonder “how can a measly 1/4 cup be 200 calories!?”  I’ll say it again: sugar.  Brands have taken something that is supposed to be filled with whole grains, and fruit and turn it into a candy bar!  Needless to say, I have been on a bit of a granola hiatus for a while.  Until I decided to make my own that is.  While on this roadtrip I had a laundry list of foods I was going to make beforehand so I could try and remain relatively healthy while living off of store bought food.  I was also being cheap.  On that list was granola.

I combined a few different recipes to make the one I used.  I think this one was still a little too sweet for me so in the recipe- if you like a sweeter granola use the larger amount of the sugars.

There’s exactly a bazillion-and-one different recipes out there so don’t worry to much about finding the ‘perfect’ granola recipe because it probably doesn’t exist.  Just look at a few and see the basic foundation of the recipe [oats, nuts, some form of sugar/sweetener] and customize it to your liking.  Here is what I came up with:

Homemade Granola yields ~2.5 cups

1 cup regular oats

1/4 cup flax cereal [or millet or rice puff cereal- whatever you can find]

1/4 cup chopped almonds

2 Tbsp ground flax

1 Tbsp brown sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 – 1/2 tsp cinnamon

1-2 Tbsp brown rice syrup

1.5 Tbsp almond butter

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp almond extract

Mix the dry ingredients in a medium bowl.  Add the wet ingredients and mix very well to be sure everything is evenly distributed.  Bake 20-25 minutes at 325F on an un-greased baking sheet, stirring granola halfway through baking.

If you want to add in dried fruit do so after baking.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Homemade granola

  1. Pingback: Mmm, healthy | drink. eat. play. repeat.

  2. Pingback: Roadtrip food | drink. eat. play. repeat.

  3. Pingback: granola city | drink. eat. play. repeat.

Leave a Reply

