“Not all those who wander are lost”

– J.R.R. Tolkien

Tomorrow I’m leaving for a 3 week road trip- but I can’t promise that we wont ever be lost.

*image from the Esty store Fifi du Vie

It’s slightly ridiculous how little I’ve seen of this beautiful country of ours, but I’m pretty much an East Coast girl.  We would take mini-road trips when I was a kid, but since my sister and I were quite the bickering pair my parents [understandably] limited the amount of distance we would be traveling.  We went to the Gold Cup once, Hilton Head Island too many times to count, the Outer Banks was another favorite destination, and we even drove down to Atlanta for the ’96 Olympics!  Up until last July my knowledge of the U.S. was humidity, the Appalachians, farms, and the Atlantic coastline- I’ve never even seen the Gulf!  Last summer was my first voyage out West when our family took a trip to Santa Fe/Sedona/the Grand Canyon, and I was hooked!  Those red rocks?  Love at first sight.  I didn’t stand a chance.  My mom and I are already planning a trip back to Santa Fe with my sister next year 🙂

Needless to say- I’m pretty pumped to see the Pacific, and everything in-between.  I’m also pretty pumped to eat an In-N-Out burger.

I’ll get to see new sights, meet new people, and go camping!  So hippy right?  Hippy or not I better get in tune with Mother Nature because there will be a lot of camping in National Parks on this trip to save some moolah.  That’s all part of the adventure though right?  It’s not a road trip if you’re propped up in fancy schmancy hotels the whole time now is it?  I guess it’s good we lost power for a few days from Irene so I could get used to living without mordern conveniences.  It’s cool though- I watch Man vs. Wild on the reg.

The current plan is for me to fly to San Diego, and meet up with friends who have been on a road trip from Maryland since August 8th.  We are heading up the California coast until we swing a right over to Yosemite.  After that our plans are a bit fuzzy.  San Fran, Portland, Seattle, the Badlands- definitely.  Napa/Sonoma and Redwood National Park? Crater Lake and then Willamette Vally for some more vino? Olympic National Park? Yellowstone, St. Louis?  All possibilities.  We’ll see where the road takes us.

I have a laundry list of places I want to go and people I want to visit, but I know time will always be in short supply.  We need to be back in Maryland by September 22nd for a previous engagement, but in-between Yosemite and then?  We’ll be wandering.

Any last-minute suggestions??

2 thoughts on ““Not all those who wander are lost”

Leave a Reply

