I’ll take your vegetables!

Well, its that time of year again.  “What time” you ask?  My favorite time.  The time when my grandparents start to harvest a too-much-to-handle amount of vegetables from their farm.  And who gets all their excess? ME [slash our entire family]! So far we’ve gotten green beans, asparagus, green onions, vidalia onions, garlic, an entire thyme plant, rhubarb, tomatoes, and squash.

I have to admit- I’m a little upset with them this year though.  Silly grandma didn’t plant any zucchini! Normally we’re getting zucchinis by the bag-full because those suckers grow like crazy.  Considering I can only make so many stir-frys and zucchini-mozzarella-tomato sauce bakes [another college leftover recipe], I make zucchini bread.  Like a lot.  I bake batches of whole loves, and then batches of 4 small loaves [perfect size if you’re cooking for two].  We keep one fresh loaf out, freeze the rest, and milk ’em well into winter pulling a loaf out for random dinners that aren’t quite complete.  Or just because I feel like it.  My favorite time to eat the once-frozen loaf is when its still a little bit cold from the freezer, but then again I’m also the one who eats cold leftovers for breakfast so that may not be for you.

So what’s a girl to do with no zucchini from the g-parents?  [gasp] Buy zucchini…or improvise.  I made squash bread.  I know, I know, it sounds really gross.  Actually zucchini bread sounds pretty wrong too, but really its just a spice bread with shredded zucchini/squash in it.  You can’t even taste the vegetables, but you can tell yourself its healthy because there’s vegetables in it.  See? Its genius!

Our family has a favorite recipe thats its been through plenty of trial and error so I think its safe to say its pretty freakin good:

Zucchini/Squash Bread, yield: 1 loaf

1 zucchini, shredded, about 1 1/2 cups

1/2 cup sugar [I don’t like it incredibly sweet, but you could add up to 1 cup sugar if you do]

2 eggs, lightly beaten

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 1/2 cup flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup chopped walnuts

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl.  Mix well.  Pour into ungreased pan.  Bake at 350 for 1 hour 15 minutes.  If making the four smaller loaves- bake 40 minutes.

Leave a Reply

