Some failing with the #winning

Sorry for the Charlie Sheen reference.  Sometimes people are too ridiculous to not make fun of.  I try not to do it too often though.  Mainly because, while I like making fun of them, I hate how much attention they get for being wastes of life.  I have zero drug addictions and am [generally] a good person, but I’m living with my parents and my piles of debt.  Karma is going to kick in one day- I just know it!  But that’s a different rant for a different day…

This is about my failures with cooking.

I like to think I’m a pretty good ‘recipe follower’.  I’ve learned to swap in different ingredients for one another, to cater it towards my specific tastes, and I’ve gotten pretty good at just winging it.  But I also like to experiment with a lot of new spices and flavors I’m not as familiar with.  So, naturally, there are just as many failures as there are successes. Luckily, there will always be another meal.  There will always be another chance to try that recipe.

I’m the queen of notes.  I write notes all over my recipes.  “only added a 1/2 tsp”, “cut sugar in half”, “used banana instead of pineapple”,  “too dry”, “too salty”.  If I decide to give it another go I can remember what it tasted like the first time and try to adapt the recipe a bit.

I had a failure last night.  I tried to make a flatbread stuffed with curried potatoes.  The curry was amazing.  The flatbread was good too, but there was WAY too much of it.  I had a hard time working with the dough, and I guess I didn’t flatten it enough before stuffing it with the curry because after I grilled them it was about 75% dough 25% curry.  Not the best ratio.  I saved the curry recipe and I might make that again served over some rice or maybe make it into a burrito.

I plan on trying empanadas next week so hopefully I will have better luck with those…

One thought on “Some failing with the #winning

  1. Pingback: Mad for chickpeas | drink. eat. play. repeat.

Leave a Reply

