Glorified Macaroni and Cheese

So, I did it again.

I can’t stay away from it!

It wasn’t even intentional. It just…happened. I made a tortellini spinach bake in creamy lemon sauce and it was basically a glorified mac-n-cheese.  So I loved it.

I was drawn to the recipe because of the lemon.  They just scream summer to me. Lemonade anyone?? It’s the universal ingredient.  I add it to pies, pastas, salads, marinades, squeeze some on fish or on chicken when I’m sautée-ing it.  My general cooking mantra is something along the lines of: “Hmm this dish is missing something…I’ll throw some lemon juice in it.”

To be honest though, this recipe was seriously lacking that lemon kick.  I went against my better judgement and followed the measurements adding only 2 Tbsp lemon juice.  I would say double that…at least.  I hardly tasted lemon at all, not that I’m complaining. It was delicious, I was just really expecting that lemon bite at the end.

seriously, LOOK AT THAT BASIL LEAF!! Amish plants are the shiz.

What I didn’t do was read the directions…because I apparently have serious ADD and can’t focus when I’m cooking.  “I wonder if I could add some edamame to this.  But would that go well with creamy cheeses? I think it would work better with feta..” My thoughts are so random.

Anyway [see!], I forgot to add the spinach to the dish before baking…I also failed to notice that I wasn’t supposed to make a cheese sauce and that you add the cheeses right before you bake the dish. <shrug> oh well.  I thought it was great, and I managed to get all the ingredients in there at the end so there weren’t any casualties. In fact, I actually think it was better because the spinach hadn’t been cooked/wilted.  It added a nice little crunchy freshness to the otherwise heavy, texture-less dish.  Go me!!

*aside* I made this dish with procciutto instead of bacon- mainly because I prefer the smell of bacon to it’s greasy-ness, and I used some aged asiago in place of parmesan because [gasp] we didn’t have parmesan. Feel free to experiment, and let me know how it goes!

Over and out.

Leave a Reply

