Memorial Day Weekend

What a beautiful weekend we just had! Summer came to Maryland with all its humid avengence, AND it was a 4-day weekend for me. Sorry, I’ll try not to brag…too much.

I went to a Washington Nationals baseball game with the padre on Saturday.  I found a Groupon deal for cheap tickets and a voucher for concessions so I figured what the heck.  Do I like the Nationals? Not really [go Yankees], but I do love watching baseball- not to mention the Nationals Stadium has Hard Times and Ben’s Chili Bowl as vendors. You can’t really go wrong.

Imagine this little nugget racing around the field with Jefferson, Roosevelt, and Abe

I also found out that to take panoramic pictures on my camera you scan the view you want to capture and it clicks away [10 frames/sec] to seamlessly stitch together your photo. I fell in love all over again.  My old camera I had to manually take three consecutive pictures and it would stitch them together [usually not too well]. #upgrade

Every once in a while I like to go running on a trail in the woods, or go on a hike, or lay at the beach just so I can forget about life for a few hours.  Stop thinking about the job application I have to write, the loan payments I have to make, that appointment I need to cancel, and just enjoy nature.  I’m too hippie for my own good, but seriously- its theraputic.  I’m no transcendental, but I can see what they were after.

So, on Sunday I decided to go hiking.  Shenandoah National Park is only about 2.5 hours from my house and its beautiful.  There are a ton of great trails ranging in length and difficulty, and -for some reason- its one of the least visited National Parks, which means its never too crowded. Except for Sunday. On Old Rag Mountain hiking trail.  I knew this was the most popular trail in the park, but I heard it was hard. Like crawling on your hands and knees hard. So, naturally, I wanted to do it.

There were two bottlenecks near the top of the mountain where certain parts of the trail only allowed one person at a time, and were particularly difficult.  I’m talking I was waiting in line for 10 minutes to crawl through some rocks.  The views were spectacular though, and I made a few friends along the way.

I was tired for two days. Note to self: 8.8 miles is hard.

 

peek-a-boo

Monday? I have no idea what I did…probably because I did nothing. What a great weekend.

One thought on “Memorial Day Weekend

  1. Pingback: Shenandoah National Park | drink. eat. play. repeat.

Leave a Reply

