Bulgur

I’m trying to be healthy. I REALLY am. So in my latest attempt- I’m trying new grains. My parents are loving it I’m sure.  Just wait- one day I will make them eat tofu…maybe.

I found a side-dish recipe using bulgur online from the New York Times *love* (ps- is anyone else annoyed they are making you pay for unlimited online reading now?!), and luckily that was one of the two (TWO) new grains I could find at our local health food store The Good Earth. I’m still on the hunt for farro…

I cut this recipe in half, and admittedly left out the mint- we didn’t have any fresh- and skimped on the olive oil a bit.  It turned out delicious! The cinnamon adds a sweet aroma, and the nutty flavor of the bulgur contrasts nicely with the bitterness of the lemon and green onions.  I made the whole recipe ahead of time and chilled it in the fridge for about an hour or so (I had a wine tasting to go to- standard), and I think it helped to let all the flavors sink in. Definitely a keeper recipe!

For some odd internet mystery I can’t find the recipe online anymore so, luckily, I printed it out:

Bulgur and Chickpea Salad with Mint and Parsley (serves six)

1 cup  medium or coarse bulgur

2 cups water

salt, preferably kosher, to taste

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1/ 3 cup extra-virgin olive oil

1 cup diced cucumber

1/2 cup finely chopped parsley

2 Tbsp finely chopped mint

1 15-oz can chick peas, drained and rinsed

1 bunch green onions, thinly sliced and soaked in water for 5 minutes

1. For coarse bulgur: Bring the water to a boil in a medium saucepan. Add the bulgur and salt to taste, reduce the heat, cover, and simmer 20 minutes or until the water is absorbed.  remove from heat, and allow to sit undisturbed for 10 minutes.

For medium bulgur: Place the bulgur in a bowl with 1/2 tsp salt and pour on 2 cups hot or boiling water.  Allow to sit for 20 – 25 minutes, until most of the water is absorbed. Drain and squeeze out the water. 

2. Meanwhile, mix together the lemon juice, cinnamon, and salt to taste. Whisk in the olive oil. Toss with the bulgur in a bowl.  Add the remaining ingredients, toss together, taste, adjust seasonings.  

*NOTE* I had no idea what type of bulgur I had so I just used the first method- worked like a charm. I also failed to read the part about ‘soaking the green onions’, they also worked like a charm. I added some sliced radishes for color. YUM!

what do you mean I don't get any...


Leave a Reply

