Weekend eats

The weekends are for random creations.

I [usually] have the luxury of time so I like to try new dishes or old ones that I know require a labor of love.  I figure if it turns out awful- there is always the Blue Wind :)

I wasn’t particularly adventurous this weekend, but I was relaxed.  I took my time around the kitchen and casually searched our fridge and freezer for any ingredients I might want to throw together.

Pizza was the first dish I conquered.  Again, not difficult, just time consuming.  I used this dough recipe for the second time and it turned out amazing.  I decided to try and re-create a pizza I had at Matchbox before my 8k in mid-March.  My version had a healthy shaving of romano cheese [parmesan would work nice as well] followed by some sliced dried figs, prosciutto, and a drizzle of honey.  Baked at 500˚ for about 10 minutes it turned put pretty darn good. Nothing beats Matchbox, but I would say this is a close second [I’m just so modest].

I chose to top it with some arugula but spinach or no greens would work fine as well- I just like the freshness.

For dinner, I was on another mission.  Mainly I just wanted these black bean burgers again.  I had made them a while back.  Loved them.  And decided it was high time for another dose.  I changed a few changes and cut the recipe in half since we only had one can of black beans so this was my final recipe:

 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

1 chipotle chile

3 Tbsp chopped onions

1 clove garlic, chopped

1 Tbsp tomato paste

1/4 cup old fashioned rolled oats

1/4 cup millet

1/2 cup frozen corn

1/2 egg [I just used the egg white]

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp dried cilantro

1/2 tsp kosher salt

Just follow Rebecca’s directions and you will be set!  I ended up making 4 regular sized burgers and one small-ish burger.  I have eaten them on a slice of bread with avocado, in a salad, and also just by themselves [hey, they’re really good!] so pick your poison.

Here’s to relaxing on the weekends!  Hopefully you had a chance to slow down and do something you really enjoy.

Leave a Reply

